On the 20 February the world famous Café de Paris, located in the West End of London played host to the annual PQ magazine awards. The awards now in their 15th year recognise the future generation of accountants, and the hard work they undertake in order to qualify; as well as those who educate and nurture them on their journey.

Before the evening formalities commenced, guests were treat to some thoroughly entertaining comedy from Britain’s Got Talent finalist, Daliso Chaponda. The man who can boast over 50 million views on Facebook and YouTube.

PQ editor and AIA honorary member, Graham Hambly, then took to the stage to host the main event of the evening.

The Association of International Accountants (AIA) has a longstanding relationship with the annual PQ magazine awards, and for 2018 the AIA were pleased to sponsor and present the ‘Online College of the Year’ award.

Competition for the award was fierce with Avado Learning, BPP Online Classroom, Kaplan On Demand, LSBF Online and Premier Training all shortlisted for the coveted accolade.

AIA Vice President, Maggie Timoney had the privilege of awarding the trophy to eventual winners, Kaplan on Demand.

Congratulations to all of the other award winners: 

  • Student Body of the Year – BCASS
  • Accountancy College of the Year, Public Sector – London South Bank University
  • Accountancy College of the Year, Private Sector – The Training Place of Excellence
  • Lecturer of the Year, Public Sector – Alan Parkinson, UCL
  • Lecturer of the Year, Private Sector – Andrew Mower, Kaplan
  • Study Resource of the Year – Premier Training (Premflix)
  • Innovation in Accountancy – ACCA’s Ethics & Professional Skills Module
  • Best Use of Social Media – Avado’s Caron Betts (ACCA Exam Countdown)
  • Training Manager/Workplace Mentor of the Year – Melanie Wright, Lovewell Blake
  • Accountancy Team of the Year - Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust Finance Team
  • Accountancy Personality – Vicky Taylor, HTFT Partnership
  • Editor’s Award – Rob Whiteman, CIPFA and Fiona Williams, Sutton Coldfield College
  • Apprentice of the Year – Rahil Mahmood, Rolls Royce
  • NQ of the Year - Michael Scott, EQ Accountants LLP (ICAS)
  • Distance Learning Student of the Year - Toby Austin, Explore Learning
  • PQ of the Year - Tyson Nsimbe, FairFX 

Commenting on the evening, AIA Vice President Maggie Timoney, said: "First and foremost congratulations to all of the PQ award nominees and winners.

"The evening is always a highlight of the accountancy event calendar, as it provides a fantastic opportunity to meet and network with the future generation of accountants and educational establishments in a social environment.

"We now look forward to maintaining our close relationship with PQ, as we help to guide, develop and nurture our students journey on the path to becoming fully qualified accountants."

PQ Magazine Awards - 20 February 2018